Ten local educators, five students and a second bus driver are increasingly being honored for any positive impact they’ve had about the thrives on students with special needs under western culture Contra Costa Unified School District (WCCUSD).

On Wednesday, the university district’s Community Advisory Committee for Special Education announced winners from the 2017 You are making a positive change Awards, which recognize those demonstrating “outstanding contributions above their roles” to increase the lives of special education students.

There are three separate awards involved, one honoring educators (You earn an improvement Award), another honoring students having time for it to assist peers in special education (Jake Rockeman Student Award) and a third honoring an area bus driver who works with special needs students (Brian Rutford Award).

The 2017 winners are:

You Subject Award

Alison Makela, Principal, Madera Elementary School (El Cerrito)

Claudia Velez, Principal, Wilson Elementary School (Richmond)

Clemencia Turner, RSP Teacher, Dover Elementary School (San Pablo)

Gail Tsujimoto-Cho, SH Teacher, Fairmont Elementary School (El Cerrito)

Rosaline Soneda, SH Teacher, Fairmont Elementary School (El Cerrito)

Jennifer Walden, General Education Teacher, Pinole Valley Secondary school (Pinole)

Merissi Argueta, Instructional Aide, Helms Junior high school (San Pablo)

Joyce Forte, Early Intervention Program Specialist, Cameron School (El Cerrito)

Sandy Oliver, Assistive Technology Specialist, Harding Elementary School (El Cerrito)

Marywin Deegan and Margaret Mowry-Evans

Jake Rockeman Student Award

Gurchan Sahota, First Grade, Ohlone Elementary School (Hercules)

Addison Nash, Third Grade, Olinda Elementary School (El Sobrante)

Jessica Wilber, Sixth Grade, Collins Elementary School (Pinole)

Alina Nguyen, Sixth Grade, Collins Elementary School (Pinole)

Caitlin Louis, Sixth Grade, Collins Elementary School (Pinole)

Brian Rutford Memorial Award

Jaime Sanchez, First Student Bus Driver, Highland Elementary School (Richmond)

Superintendent Matthew Duffy the award winners “selfless.”

“Their capability touch the lives individuals most vulnerable children speaks to their selfless natures and must be an inspiration for all among us,” Duffy said.

On March 9, a ceremony will probably be held to honor the awardees at DeJean Junior high school, 3400 Macdonald Ave. in Richmond.